whoever you want to be…

The Week in Web, by Robyn Wilder

In which I share choice links from around the internet – some will make you laugh, some will make you cry, some will make you point out that they’re actually from 1997. Hopefully, none will make you vomit.

This week I have been mostly whimpering in a dark room with an ice pack clamped to my head, in the grip of a Biblical-scale migraine that’s been with me since Tuesday. However, in less painful moments, when I haven’t been Googling “feverfew” and “trepanning”, I have uncovered these gems.

NEWSISH

Seventeen Magazine agrees to ‘Body Peace Treaty’
Teen magazine Seventeen has pledged to “never change girls’ body or face shapes”, and to only publish images of “real girls and models who are healthy”, after a 14-year-old from Maine petitioned it to be more transparent about photo retouching.

Tentative nerdy backslapping as Higgs-like particle is Large Hadron Collided into being (maybe)
Look, I don’t know what the Higgs-boson is. I can barely understand what the Large Hadron Collider is (it’s basically a cross between a Dyson and a Tardis, right?). I did an arts degree, for goodness’ sake. But this video breaks down the science and explains things accessibly – or at least it seems to, in that way that complex dreams make ringing, crystal sense until you wake up. Still, I feel a bit smarter as a result:

Shard!
And of course the Shard in London Bridge – now the tallest building in all of Europe – opened this week, serenaded by green lasers and the London Philharmonic Orchestra. Twitter has been abuzz with Shard talk – mainly people comparing it to a penis, which mostly just makes me worry about the state of their penises and the penises they have met. I walk under the Shard on my way to work every day, and my favourite thing about it is how it reflects sunlight:

JUST BROWSING

A conversation with my twelve year-old self
When he was 12, filmmaker Jeremiah McDonald videoed himself having a conversation with his future self. Now 32, Jeremiah videos the other half of that conversation. I particularly like the line “The internet, you’ll know what it is in a few years. It’s going to completely take over your life”:

Every outfit Cher wears in Clueless in 60 sweet seconds

21 pictures that will restore your faith in humanity
Including this one:

AND FINALLY
The only good thing about Nora Ephron’s passing is the wealth of material people keep digging up and posting online. Here she is in 2004, talking about why Meryl Streep should always, always play you:

What have you seen on the web this week?

About Robyn Wilder

Writer, editor, creditor.

Information

This entry was posted on July 6, 2012 by in Bea Current, Bea Entertained and tagged .
Follow whoever you want to be… on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

