whoever you want to be…

Nappy Ever After – Does Having a Baby Make You Crazy?

Picture the scene: It’s three-thirty in the morning and I’m awake, feeding the baby for the fifth time since I went to bed. His eyelids flutter closed and I lower him gently into bed. The moment his back hits the mattress, his eyes open and he starts to cry. Biting back a sob of exhaustion, I pick him up and start the slow trudge back and forth across the bedroom. It’s about now that I truly comprehend the phrase ‘tearing your hair out’. If he doesn’t stay asleep this time, I might actually do that.

If ever there is a time that I question my post-baby sanity, the wee small hours are definitely up there. But it isn’t just the stressful moments which make me wonder if I’m losing the plot; there have been many quiet, thoughtful interludes when I’ve found myself at breaking point for no discernible reason. I cry with very little provocation, and snap at my husband for even less, all the while muttering under my breath like a milk-stained version of Gollum. Sometimes, it’s all I can do to make myself some toast in the morning and stare zombie-like at Homes Under The Hammer. I don’t remember feeling like this with my first baby (although it was a long time ago now – maybe I’ve blocked it out) and I’m starting to wonder – does having a baby send you a little bit crazy?

I’m not talking about the much-discussed, does-it-or-doesn’t-it-exist phenomenon that is Baby Brain (although when I find myself unable to finish a sentence because I can’t remember the word for the wossname, it does drive me mad). And please don’t think I’m describing post-natal depression, because I definitely don’t have anything as soul destroyingly awful as that. I’m just aware of a general, low-level mental imbalance, which means I don’t really feel like me. In my former life, I like to think I was highly organised, independent and ambitious. Now, I’m happy to let my day drift by having achieved nothing more than some cheese on toast and a happy baby.

I’m sure it’s all easily explained by hormones and sleep deprivation but I think it might be all part of Mother Nature’s plan to ensure mothers forget about everything except looking after their baby. My cotton wool brain certainly makes me more inclined to focus on my son and forget about more daunting tasks, like writing novels or brushing my teeth. Maybe, like sleepless nights and round the clock feeds, this feeling of not playing with a full set of stacking cups will pass. I hope so, my precious, I really do. Or I might start to look like Gollum too.

Image: FreeDigitalPhotos.net

About Tamsyn Murray

I live in Hertfordshire and make things up for a living. I write books for children, adults and educated animals. I own one cat, one dog and five rabbits, plus assorted humans.

4 comments on “Nappy Ever After – Does Having a Baby Make You Crazy?

  1. Becky Hagan
    August 22, 2012

    This is me. Exactly. Just know that know that you are not alone!

  2. Tamsyn Murray
    August 22, 2012

    Thank goodness, Becky! We should start a support group – Mental Mummies!

  3. Hannah
    August 30, 2012

    Seriously, I think a support group is needed. I have a 15-week-old son and my brain feels like mush. Every week I plan to ‘get back on it’ but this has yet to happen.

  4. Cally Taylor
    September 6, 2012

    I can SO relate. For me the sleep deprivation was the killer. I started to feel a lot more like me (i.e. mostly sane) when my son started sleeping through the night at 7 months. But…seven months of being woken up every 2-3 hours?! That should be illegal!

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on August 22, 2012 by in Bea Family and tagged , , .
Follow whoever you want to be… on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

