whoever you want to be…

Moroccan chickpea stew with couscous

Like most of us, I’ve been watching rising food prices with dismay. We’ve always had a fairly low food budget and already do many of the things advised to keep costs down; lots of vegetarian meals, cooking from scratch (most of the time, anyway), and I try to meal plan and shop from a list.

It’s a subject that I have a lot to say about, but for this month I’m just going to share a recent addition to my regular meal plans.

I’m always on the lookout for cheap, easy and nutritious recipes and this one fits the bill. It does require harissa paste (I bought a tiny jar in Tesco for £1.20 but it does seem to be keeping well in the fridge), but the other ingredients are fairly standard. It’s also a ‘one pot dish’ which keeps washing up to a minimum. Result!

As is often the way, this recipe is adapted from several I found online while looking for inspiration.

Moroccan chickpea stew with couscous

Serves 2

Ingredients:

1 large onion, chopped

1 carrot, diced

splash of olive oil

1 tsp honey

1 tsp lemon juice (concentrate, more if using fresh)

1 tsp ground cumin

1 tbsp tomato puree

1-2 tsp harissa paste depending on how hot you like your food and how strong your particular paste is

200g tinned chickpeas (I’ve found the Napolina chickpeas to be significantly nicer than own brand ones and I bought a load when they were on offer)

400 g tin chopped tomatoes

2 tbsp couscous

optional: 1 tsp Swiss Marigold veg stock powder, or similar

Method:

Heat the olive oil and gently fry the onion and carrot for five minutes. Stir in harissa paste and cumin and fry for 30 seconds. Add all the other ingredients. Half-fill the empty tomato can with water and add. Stir in your veg stock powder if using.

Simmer for 30 mins.

Add couscous and simmer for another five minutes.

Serve.

I haven’t tried the kids with this one yet, but I do often make double the recipe and have it for lunch the next day.

[Image credit: FreeDigitalPhotos.net]

4 comments on “Moroccan chickpea stew with couscous

  1. Keris
    September 24, 2012

    Sounds gorgeous. I’m definitely trying it. I love chickpeas.

  2. Kate
    September 27, 2012

    One-pot recipes are my favourite thing (I’m a very lazy cook) – am definitely trying this!

  3. Sarah
    September 27, 2012

    Thank you, Keris and Kate! Hope you enjoy it.

  4. Pingback: Bea magazine « Sarah Painter

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on September 23, 2012 by in Bea Delicious, Bea Family, Bea Healthy, Bea Spiritual and tagged , , , .
Follow whoever you want to be… on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

