whoever you want to be…

Book storage emergency!

Well, this is quite a ridiculous state of affairs isn’t it? This bookcase is on our landing, and if I don’t tackle the tower o’ books soon one day it’ll topple over and an avalanche of literature will trap us inside the bedroom. There’s no food there! Or television! Clearly something needs to be done.

I’ve always needed lots of books around me. I grew up in a house full of them, in fact kids down the road would often knock on our door to see if my parents had a book that might help them with homework. They nearly always did. Ever since university I’ve lugged my own collection from place to place, and watched it grow. And grow. When Mike came with a van to collect my stuff the day we moved in together he looked at the stacks of books I was still in the middle of packing and innocently asked “You’re not bringing ALL of these, are you?” HA HA HA HA HA OH.

Nine years later and we live in a house with books in every room, which is just as it should be. I do have a clear out every now and again, taking bags full to Oxfam or passing on good reads to friends and family. Yet still, they pile up and up and up. We’ve got alcoves either side of the chimney breast in our living room and the plan is to get some built-in storage there one day, like this:

I dream of having a proper library, or a gorgeous reading nook like this:

For now, most of the books are kept in a random assortment of cheapo melamine bookcases. If it’s not quite the time to plan that built-in storage we can at least replace some of the old shabby shelves. I’ve created a Pinterest board for inspiration (of course) – here are the highlights:

I’m so in love with this painted number from John Lewis – look at it! It’s so so beautiful! – but it’s not exactly within my price range, at £399. Sigh.

This Hemnes bookcase from Ikea is more budget friendly, at £95, and will suit most decor schemes. Of course, we’ll probably just end up bringing home a couple of good old Billys.

I also like this, from Amazon – the cupboard storage is a handy bonus, plus it looks very similar to the custom-built ones above.

There are lots of quirky bookcases to be found on the internet, but most don’t actually seem to hold that many books. But if you do happen to have an old piano lying around…….

5 comments on “Book storage emergency!

  1. Keris
    September 27, 2012

    Oh I dream about proper built-in bookcases. How sad is that?

  2. bodhimoments
    September 28, 2012

    I hear you, Anne-Marie! I hear you! We too have books everywhere and one day, I too will have a library!

  3. Kate
    September 30, 2012

    Wow, love that piano one!

  4. Marina Schulz Tork
    October 1, 2012

    You stole my Hemnes! No actually I just want the Hemnes bedside table:)
    Ps: My dad has a cool librarie in his basement with a TON of books, the problem is there all in German and Latin and I only speak Portuguese and English and a little french. Also when I was a kid I was really scared of the basement because of this creepy painting. It’s gone now- but i still dislike going down there.

  5. Pingback: New Year, New(ish) Bathroom? « Bea

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on September 27, 2012 by in Bea Spiritual.
Follow whoever you want to be… on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

