whoever you want to be…

C*******s Crafting

I know, I’m sorry for using the Christmas word so early in the year, but when it comes to crafting for the *holiday season* the earlier the better I’m afraid.

I’ve personally managed to craft very little in the way of seasonal items. In fact, this Three Kings piece is about the only one.

Three Kings Cross Stitch
As much as I would love to one day be able to make each of my cards a hand stitched one, the fact remains that achieving that would mean starting in January and quite frankly I have other things I’d sooner stitch.

But there are a few things I’ve always wanted to make. A more personal reusable advent calendar. Ornaments for the tree. Maybe even one of those swaggity things that magazine homes always have hanging along the fireplace mantel. Not to mention those large socks that are left out for a jolly man wearing red.

I’ve bought every single one of the ornament kits that Alicia Paulson of Posie Gets Cozy has ever made, and last year I got quite close to actually making some of them. But then my 10 weeks of early pregnancy bed rest were enlivened by antibiotics that meant I spent 6 of those weeks sleeping 20 out of every 24 hours, and so the ornaments remain unsewn. (I’ve still bought this years kit, because I’ll manage them all one day).

This year I have invested in some plastic canvas and gold perforated paper in order to attempt a few simple ornaments. I’ve even got some red ribbon knocking round somewhere to attempt a spot of festive bunting.

As for my advent calendar, I’d decided to go with some of the helpful goodies sold by Panduro. Why frustrate myself learning how to make embroidered mini sacks when they can sell me sweet little paper boxes, or even an advent house for me to paint myself. But since I’ve just discovered M & S are selling a string of stockings calendar for a bargainous £10, I’ll be having one of those instead (mainly because my mother just phoned to say she’d spotted them and bought me one, thanks mum!)

Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m off to find a stocking that I might be able to finish stitching before my 3 month old daughter turns 21…

About petronellarose

Book loving, wine drinking, chocolate adoring slightly ditsy blonde. Currently coming to terms with finally being a mother. Hurrah!

Information

This entry was posted on October 5, 2012 by in Bea Creative.
Follow whoever you want to be… on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

