whoever you want to be…

The C Word is coming.

Rudolf, by armstrong ward
£54.95 from notonthehighstreet.com

It’s only 4 weeks away, folks, so pretty soon it’ll be time to head up into the loft* and retrieve the various boxes and bin liners that our Christmas decs are stashed in – yes, even the tree. I’ve never had a real one – I know the done thing is to wax lyrical about the smell of pine etc etc but they seem like such a lot of WORK (I wouldn’t know what to do with a tree that has real needles and doesn’t come in three bits that slot together). One afternoon in mid December – not before the 12th – I’ll stick on Sufjan Stevens’ Songs for Christmas and spend a happy couple of hours decorating the tree, only stopping when it’s liberally covered in lights and baubles (like this, from last year). Then I’ll sit back with a glass of wine to watch the fairy lights and my mini fibre-optic tree twinkling away and I’ll finally feel FESTIVE.

We only have a small house but I still like to add something new to the decorations each year, so I’ve been looking around for ideas for some extra Yuletide colour and sparkle. I’d love to give a home to Rudolf (above), but he’s a bit more dear (pun absolutely intended) than I’d like! I’m not exactly a craft-y person but I think even I could manage something like this:

 

This is a fab idea, perfect for a small space (similar to this and this and this):

Christmas Tree Fabric Wall Sticker by Chocovenyl, £30 notonthehighstreet.com

A great way of displaying baubles – I do something similar by putting the red and gold ones that don’t make the cut for the tree in a big glass vase:

I love this idea for displaying cards (mine are always shoved onto bookcases and therefore get a bit lost amongst the spines), but I’d spray the branches silver or gold for more sparkle:

Now, lights. We don’t have any outside yet (and I deeply disapprove of blue flashing ones – they are best left to the police) but I’d happily festoon every available inch indoors with fairy lights if I could. I’ve got my eye on these from M&S – they’re simple and elegant and could easily be left up all year round – but if you’re looking for something a little more literally ‘Christmassy’ these are perfect (they also have cute snowmen and reindeer ones):

John Lewis have a gorgeous Japanese Christmas range this year – I am IN LOVE with this glitter bonsai tree (but not with the price):

£75

My favourite more affordable item from the range is this snow globe, but annoyingly it’s out of stock – it’s not even December yet, people! Speaking of snow globes, don’t tell anyone but I absolutely love cheesy Thomas Kinkade Christmas collectibles…….

When do you put your decorations up? And do you have a real or fake tree?

*This is my husband’s job – I’ve never been in our loft!

3 comments on “The C Word is coming.

  1. diane
    November 27, 2012

    Aw, these are all lovely (maybe not the snow globe as much, but to each her own…) We still have the last real tree we got (from 2008), in the front garden. Not because we planted it and kept it going, but because it died and we don’t quite know what to do with it/care enough to find out. Those things are a LOT of hassle.

  2. Susan Walters
    November 28, 2012

    Love those decorations! This I the first year we haven’t had a real tree – they are just so expensive so we have bought a fake one and I can’t wait to put it up. We normally wait until the second weekend but this year it’s going up on either Saturday or Sunday (as requested by the children.) I think I am sometimes more excited about Christmas than they are!

  3. Keris
    November 28, 2012

    LOVE that pearl garland. Also love Rudolf. Would happily have both up year-round.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on November 27, 2012 by in Bea Creative, Bea Stylish and tagged , .
Follow whoever you want to be… on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

