whoever you want to be…

Is it the end of the world as we know it?

Apocalypse I must admit that I enjoy a bit of conspiracy theorism – I think it’s the creative part of me, the part that loves to make up stories about how things work in the world. And, while it’s not exactly a conspiracy theory – rather a prophetic prediction – I’ve been chuckling along with family and friends over the last few weeks about The End of the World predicted for the 21st of this month.

I may have wished a few friends a pleasant passing; I’ve advised some clients that I hope to see them at their appointments in January, but if the world ends, not to worry about any cancellation fees; my sister is even hosting an Apocalypse Party on Friday evening, to mark her 18th birthday. All in good fun, we say!

But amid all the joking, I thought to myself: “what if the world really were to end?” and I started to wonder how I would spend my last moments in the world. Would I be worrying about paying bills, watching my weight, tidying the house, working my 9 to 5? Or would I up the ante and be more invested in embodying joy and love for my family, friends, and fellow humans?

While pondering this earlier today, I was leafing through a book and came across a bookmark with some prose that really spoke to me:

“God, make me an instrument of your peace. Where there is hatred, let me sow love. Where there is injury, pardon. Where there is doubt, faith. Where there is despair, hope. Where there is darkness, light. And where there is sadness, joy… Grant that I may not so much seek to be consoled as to console. To be understood, as to understand. To be loved, as to love. For it is in giving that we receive, it is in pardoning that we are pardoned, and it is in dying that we are born to eternal life.” – St Francis of Assisi

A few years ago, I attended a seminar by Klemmer & Associates, and in it, our presenter talked about developing a mindset called “First Day / Last Day”.

If we were to live life as if every day was our First Day, could we be engaged, filled with wonder, peace and energy for life, create new ideas and new relationships, with a sense of joy and without baggage (The Past)?

And if we were to live life as if every day was our Last Day, could we create a sense of urgency for chasing our important dreams, forgiving all hurts, and loving with full hearts, without the burden of The Future?

We never know when we will take our last breath. Life, for all its wonder and joy, is a risk inherent. It’s so easy to take our time on Earth for granted, and to lull ourselves into a false sense of security about what time we have left, until we’re reminded – often in tragedy – of how fragile we are.

Today, I want to encourage you (and myself!) to wake up. Not to fritter away time on things that are not truly important. To stop putting yourself down, beating yourself up and proving to yourself that you’re not as worthy as you’d like to be. To stand in the moment you’re in, take a breath, and find some small (or large!) way to take a step towards a Big Dream you’ve tucked away for a rainy day.

You ARE amazing. You ARE important. You ARE worthy.

And you’ve only got two days left.

[Image sourced from Buffyvore]

About Erin Le Clerc

Erin is a psychologist, facilitator and life coach. She's also a writer, traveller, singer, dreamer and award winning air guitarist. She's passionate about encouraging people to live and love to their fullest potential, while having a bit of fun at the same time.

3 comments on “Is it the end of the world as we know it?

  1. Keris
    December 23, 2012

    I love this post, Erin. Thanks. (Also, that St Frances of Assisi quote was totally ripped off in a hymn we used to sing at school – Make Me A Channel of Your Peace. I’ll be singing it all day now.)

  2. Erin Le Clerc
    December 24, 2012

    Ha! We used to sing that at school too! It’s a nice message to sing all day long, really. Right? 😉 (p.s. Sorry for the earworm!)

    • Keris
      December 24, 2012

      Hee. No, I do love a good hymn every now and then. ‘We plough the fields and scaaaaaaterrrrrr’ is one of my faves.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on December 19, 2012 by in Bea Inspired, Bea Spiritual, Bea Yourself.
Follow whoever you want to be… on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

