whoever you want to be…

All I want for Christmas is a decent veggie meal

Christmas is just brilliant! Honestly. I love everything about it. Except one thing. As a vegetarian why do restaurants which would otherwise provide a couple of options for me to peruse decide that what I really want to eat at this time of year is some stir fried mixed veg. Really?! While everyone around me tucks into a full roast with all the trimmings I get some pasta and a few olives? No, I’m sorry but that’s rubbish.

I love roast dinners. The only bit I don’t want is the meat (or anything cooked with the meat) but surely it’s not that hard to replace the turkey with a veggie burger, nut cutlet, Quorn roast or something similar. When we go to our local pub for a carvery my option is a cauliflower cheese tart. Perfect. I love cauliflower cheese and who isn’t partial to a tart? (Don’t be filthy.) If they can provide that every Sunday surely other places can do the same in December? Apparently not.

I really love risottos, pasta and stroganoff but if everyone else is enjoying a turkey dinner at a Christmas party I want something similar too. I don’t think that’s asking too much. I’m not demanding extra special treatment just pop a burger in the oven for 15 minutes! I’m happy with that!

So this is an appeal to all chefs in 2013 – you do a great job with veggie meals the rest of the year please put some thought into the festive offerings too!

Information

This entry was posted on December 20, 2012 by in Bea Delicious, Bea Family and tagged , , , .
Follow whoever you want to be… on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

