whoever you want to be…

Seeking Inspiration

The Wheatfield ArtHaving spent years intending to start that health kick “at the beginning of next week” (because Mondays are such a good day to start things??), or saying to myself “one day I’ll…”; I have found that in more recent years – probably out of frustration with my lack of results, than anything else – I’ve joined that school of thought that says “why not today!”

As such, I’ve not really been one for making New Year’s Resolutions. Heck, if I’m willing to wait a few months before I make a change in my life, then I can’t be terribly invested or committed; and if I’m going to get something done, I’d rather not have to wait. Sometimes that delightful character trait of impatience comes in handy!

This year, though, I felt quite differently about the ending of 2012 and the coming of 2013. Last year was a challenging year for me, and as the New Year approached, I felt as if somewhere inside of me, a spring was bubbling to the surface, babbling and singing about the amazing New Year ahead. It was a little bit otherworldly, truth be told!

Those of you who have read my Bea columns before, may have noticed that I am a big advocate for making mindful choices; and on New Years Eve, as this feeling of possibility was fizzing about inside of me, it occurred to me that this feeling was a choice too. I could choose to let the challenges from 2012 harden my thinking, and I could create the same year I’d just had; or I could choose to embrace this weird idea of exponential growth and new opportunity, and allow it to propel me towards all those goals and dreams I’ve held in my heart for years (all of which are *quite* unreasonable, when you look at the state of the world, really).

It was at the time of this realisation that another idea popped into my head. To create an extraordinary year, I needed a theme for 2013; a context for the year, that would remind me to stand in the idea of possibility and growth; that could colour my choices; that would serve me in embracing all of myself; and encourage me to think outside of the box in my problem-solving, when I hit obstacles on my way (as an aside – hitting obstacles is a great sign that we’re moving forward on our path!).

So, this year, my theme, my context, is Creativity.

So far, this has encouraged me to keep a daily journal of thoughts and ideas. I have taken up the #365 photography challenge, and I’m documenting moments of inspiration, peace, enjoyment and so forth every day. I have re-embraced writing, crafting, reading, daydreaming and goal setting. I’ve got coloured pencils, stickers, stamps and sundry to add colour to my day. I’ve been listening to music; having jam sessions with musical friends and family; heck! I even bought myself a cheap pink ukulele for Christmas (and covered it with ridiculous stickers), because it tickled my fancy, and got me learning chords, playing silly songs and laughing a LOT.

What I’ve realised is that it’s ok to have a tough year, but to move forward in our journey, it’s important to refuel ourselves in ways that work for us.

I want to encourage you to find yourself a “theme” for 2013, and just test it out for yourself. Maybe you want to find a new path in your life, and Purpose would spur you on. Perhaps you’ve been stuck in a rut for a while, and Possibility would help to awaken your brain to new opportunities that have been hidden in plain sight. Maybe Confidence, Compassion or Honesty would remind you to stand in self-worth, and support you in building your life by design, rather than by circumstance.

Whatever you choose, make it a word that spurs you to action; that stands for what you want to create more of in your life; or that keeps you set on your chosen path.

Words are powerful. And it’s possible that the words you’ve been using as your context haven’t been serving you so far. Maybe you didn’t even realise you were standing in Doubt, Fear, Pain, Anger, Poverty (the opposite of Possibility)… not realising that this context coloured your reactions, beliefs, perceptions and emotions.

And maybe, like me, you’d like 2013 to be different than the years you’ve been having.

In the end, it’s your choice.

[Beautiful word artistry by The Wheatfield on Etsy]

About Erin Le Clerc

Erin is a psychologist, facilitator and life coach. She's also a writer, traveller, singer, dreamer and award winning air guitarist. She's passionate about encouraging people to live and love to their fullest potential, while having a bit of fun at the same time.

2 comments on “Seeking Inspiration

  1. Keris
    January 19, 2013

    I have a theme every year. This year’s is ‘Simplicity’.

    • Erin Le Clerc
      January 19, 2013

      That’s so cool, Keris! 🙂 And simplicity sounds brilliant! (Can’t wait to hear how you go over the year. xx)

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on January 19, 2013 by in Bea Creative, Bea Inspired, Bea Spiritual, Bea Yourself and tagged , , , , .
Follow whoever you want to be… on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

