whoever you want to be…

“They’ve moved my desk four times already this year, and I used to be over by the window, and I could see the squirrels, and they were married…

…but then, they switched from the Swingline to the Boston stapler, but I kept my Swingline stapler because it didn’t bind up as much, and I kept the staples for the Swingline stapler and it’s not okay because if they take my stapler then I’ll set the building on fire… “ (Milton Waddams, Office Space)

Okay, so perhaps some people can get a little too attached to their workspace and its contents, but I get it, I do. Whether your desk is in an office or at home, if it’s where you spend the majority of your time it’s important that you like being there. I’m lucky – my office is in a lovely Georgian building overlooking a London square, and the fairy lights strung on my shelves, pictures of penguins, Mark Ruffalo and the little Toy Story aliens around my desk don’t raise any eyebrows.  I do keep my desk tidy though – if it’s a mess I start to panic and find it really hard to focus (not sure why I don’t feel the same way at home, where clutter reigns…). I have to make lists too. Currently I’m using this Sigel Conceptum squared notebook which I love – the square rule makes me write really neatly, which is pleasing, but this Meadow Bloom desk planner (£7, from Paperchase) is a lovely alternative:

Wall planners are really useful, but often so dull to look at. They needn’t be! I’m really taken with this one festooned with a retro dog and bird design (£6.99, Amazon), and love the decal stickers that are available,  like this one below. They are quite pricey – I imagine they’d be fairly easy to recreate with blackboard paint though, if you are DIY-minded.

I doubt it would meet Milton’s exacting requirements (or mine – too small), but for a little light stapling how fun is Staple City? It’s £12.99 from Mocha.

One of the worst things about working in an office is the horrible strip lighting – glaringly bright in the middle of the room but gloomy in the corners.   I have two desk lamps in my corner that give a softer light and stop me getting a headache – one is the blue version of this  that I got on sale for £4.50! This Anglepoise, £68 from John Lewis, is just gorgeous and oh, I want it so much *sigh*

For an array of office essentials, Muji are great – their range of clear acrylic storage helps to create a clean, uncluttered look – but they’re also a good place to look for quirkier pieces. I’ve just bought one of these pen stands (currently on sale at £3.50 – bargain!):

Finally, if money were no object I would purchase my Holy Grail of office-organising equipment, the Vitra Unten.Silo wall storage unit. Behold its place-for-everything glory! It makes me feel calm and efficient just looking at it. Let’s not think about the price*, eh?

*£208!! Wow.

2 comments on ““They’ve moved my desk four times already this year, and I used to be over by the window, and I could see the squirrels, and they were married…

  1. bodhimoments
    February 28, 2013

    Adore the Vitra Unten.Silo wall storage unit. WANT IT!!!!

  2. Stella
    March 7, 2013

    Love that pen stand. What a bargain.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on February 27, 2013 by in Bea Creative, Bea Inspired and tagged , , , .
Follow whoever you want to be… on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

