whoever you want to be…

Working Women: Rachelle Strauss

Who are you and what do you do?

My name is Rachelle Strauss and run Gloucestershire Web Designs.

I  help your customers find you on Google by providing internet marketing solutions that transform your business. I essentially provide a ‘one stop shop’ for web design and management, SEO, social media and blogging; everything you need to get your online business climbing the search engine results pages!

How did you get your current job?

I built various websites for friends and they were so pleased with the results they started recommending me to other people. Through word of mouth I’ve built up a business. I feel extraordinarily lucky that my business virtually ‘found me’ rather than me having to go out and search.

What does an average day look like? 

That’s what I love so much about my job – every day is different and I can work it around family life.

So it might look something like this:

6am – get up for an hour before I need to get the family up and either write a blog post or work on a client website
7-8:30 get family ready for their day / breakfast
8:30-9am housework!
9am – 11am meetings, client phone calls etc
11-11;30 go out for a walk
11:30-12:30 work on a client’s project such as web building / social media / SEO
12:30-1:15 lunch with hubby
1:30-3 work on a client’s project such as web building / social media / SEO / have business mentoring calls
3-3:30 meditate / yoga / another walk
3:30-4:30 work on a client’s project such as web building / social media / SEO / have business mentoring calls
4:30-5 help DD with homework
5-6 clear inbox, write a blog post / work on own social media

TRY not to work in the evenings and weekends 😉 but I’ll work through if we’re working on a website launch for a client.

What’s the best thing about your job?

Undoubtedly it’s when a client has an ‘Aha!’ moment. I work in a very holistic way so a big part of my business involves mentoring. That might sound strange but when someone makes the commitment to talk about themselves online and launch or step up their business it can take a lot of courage. Your website represents your brand and passion; my job is to create a stunning online impression that conveys the right message to your customers. To do that I need to get to know you and that involves listening carefully to your requirements, goals and vision.

Are there any downsides to your job?

I guess the only thing is bills for my osteopath because I use the computer so much and it takes it toll on my back and neck!

What did you want to be as a child?

A nurse

If you could do any other job, what would you choose?

I would love to own and run a country pub, providing B&B and home made meals sourced from local, seasonal ingredients.

LINKS:

WEB: http://gloucestershirewebdesigns.co.uk/
TWITTER: https://twitter.com/Raestrauss
LINKED IN: http://www.linkedin.com/pub/rachelle-strauss/51/a63/44b

About K

YA writer. Voracious reader. Feminist. Home educator. Addicted to tea and Twitter.

2 comments on “Working Women: Rachelle Strauss

  1. Rachelle Strauss
    March 21, 2013

    Thanks for the great interview Keris. I really enjoyed answering your questions and have loved reading about some of the other women you have interviewed. Keep up the great passion and enthusiasm for creating such an inspiring magazine 🙂

    • Keris
      March 21, 2013

      Thank you. And thanks for such great answers, Rachelle!

Comments are closed.

Follow whoever you want to be… on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

