whoever you want to be…

Nothing to say, by Jax Blunt

If you follow me on social media or read any of my many blogs, you’ll know that it’s rare I’m quiet for very long. So why was this (first and hopefully not last) post for BEA a day late?

It was because I wanted to write about politics, and suddenly, I dried up.

I couldn’t think of anything intelligent to say. I was running around the house, educating and looking after four children. Shopping, cooking, washing, tweeting, and struggling to string together more than a few words at a time. I couldn’t find a point of view. Which is odd, because, usually I’m full of it.

The problem I’ve got is I don’t have the answers. I look at what is going on in parliament at the moment, and it depresses and disgusts me. A parliament made up mainly of people with more money than they know what to do with, frantically grabbing at every extra penny they can, and taking houses, and money
from people with next to nothing.

It’s horrendous. The answer, apparently, is to never vote Tory.

There’s only one slight problem with that. I never have. In this representative democracy we have, I’ve never been represented. And I’ve been told by a past representative (hah!) that she saw her responsibility first and foremost to the party, as without them, she’d never have been elected.

Still feeling listened to?

Actually, there’s more than one problem with our democracy. I can’t ever vote Labour either. I trust them about as far as I can throw them on matters of individual privacy and, to be honest, the economy. And when it comes down to it, I can’t tell all that much difference between them and the conservatives. There were Labour MPs with their snouts in the expenses trough, and their attitude to family privacy and autonomy as seen over the home education legislation they tried to enact was quite plainly, awful.

So where does that leave me? It leaves me trying to work out what the alternative to our system is. We have a parliament so far removed from the reality of every day life, that they think it is reasonable and workable to remove money from the pockets of ordinary people, but do nothing about corporations minimising their tax bills left right and centre. We have an opposition that thought it acceptable to introduce legislation that would effectively have done away with parliament. We have an electorate largely disenfranchised who can’t be bothered to turn out to vote because let’s face it, it doesn’t seem to make much difference. The government is run by the media anyway isn’t it?

So what can we do? In between the ordinary acts of earning a living, living and occasionally sleeping, which quite honestly seems to absorb more energy than I have and more hours than there are in a day at times. Is there anything that we can do to make a real difference to our lives and the future?

Answers on a postcard please. Or if it’s easier, in a comments box.

About K

YA writer. Voracious reader. Feminist. Home educator. Addicted to tea and Twitter.

4 comments on “Nothing to say, by Jax Blunt

  1. jan
    March 18, 2013

    I have been pleasantly surprised by the Tory MP elected in our constituency at the last general election. He’s a first time MP, who’s been in the military and also worked in TV, he’s lived locally for a long time and is very present at local events, and is listening to what his constituents say. He voted against the rise in university fees and writes reasoned responses to letters and emails that look as if he has read and thought about what is being said. I guess it helps that he doesn’t have any ministerial responsibilities, so his main job is to represent his constituency. I didn’t vote for him last time, but I might vote for him next time. If we could find a way to fill Westminster with people with a similar attitude, we all might feel a bit more represented.

    • liveotherwise
      March 19, 2013

      Whereas our MP was parachuted in, and does nothing but toe the party line. It’s very depressing.

  2. Countryidyll
    March 18, 2013

    You could stand for election, though I appreciate with young children, at the moment it wouldn’t be a consideration. Form a protest group? Mummy bloggers are becoming a very strong voice in our ‘global’ community. If all UK mummy bloggers were to unite by lobbying their MPs, talking to the press, about what is happening in our education system I am sure they could be a force to be reckoned with. See https://www.facebook.com/ruth.pickett.50/posts/10152672206650354 for example. You need to SHOUT about it. Look how militant Gay Rights activists and Feminists were in the 1960s and 70s. If they hadn’t fought so hard for recognition then, they wouldn’t be able to have civil partnerships, or marry, today.

  3. liveotherwise
    March 19, 2013

    Our local lib dems tried to recruit me for the local elections a year or so back. I said at the time that I had my hands full, and that hasn’t really changed. But do I have the right to keep complaining and expect anyone else to do anything about it? I reckon that women definitely have to get more vocal, and social media gives us a voice while allowing us to continue our other responsibilities too.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on March 18, 2013 by in Bea Current and tagged .
Follow whoever you want to be… on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

