whoever you want to be…

Nappy Ever After: The Toll of Motherhood

Having done this motherhood business once before, when I was twenty-two, a small (detached) part of me wondered how much harder having a baby would be when I was older. Would I lose the weight more slowly, would I be more patient, would the demands of the sleepless nights be easier to deal with? Now that my latest baby is a toddler, it seemed like a good time to reflect on what being a mum second time around has cost me.

1) My sanity – You may think I am joking but I do think the extreme exhaustion caused by a baby who still does not sleep at all well has left me a little bit crazy. This might be a cost that passes with time and sleep (although a friend told me last week that she knew someone whose son did not sleep through the night until he was ELEVEN). I am convinced that the hormones of motherhood change our personalities, in any case; I distinctly remember when my daughter was around two, waking up one morning and suddenly feeling like myself again. This time around, I felt more like myself once the hunger for writing had returned but I’m still not back to who I was pre-pregnancy. I am still very emotional too; Homes Under The Hammer can make me cry…

2) My figure – OK, this is a bit self-indulgent as within six months of giving birth, I weighed less than I had pre-pregnancy. But although I lost the weight, I also lost my boobs. Eight months of heavy-duty breastfeeding took a toll and they are like soldiers who have done a particularly war-torn tour of duty – shadows of their former selves. Alas, I think this damage is permanent but I’m proud of the fact that I successfully breastfed for that long.

3) My financial independence – Babies are a lot more expensive than I remember. For several years with my daughter, I was a single parent and I don’t remember feeling the pinch quite so much as I do now. Obviously, there are other global factors to consider now and Part of the problem is that I only work part time now, but I am irritated to discover that I am financially dependent on my husband, for the first time ever. It would be a major issue if we ever split up, and I know that doesn’t sound very romantic – surely, that would be the least of my concerns – but as someone who has always been independent, it rankles a bit. My aim is to get back to being the major earner again as soon as possible.

4) My career – This one is definitely overly melodramatic: it hasn’t cost me my career at all. But I have lost time and momentum; last year, I had one book out, this year, I have one book out. I found it harder to concentrate on writing while pregnant, I was tired and unfocused. Then, once the baby arrived, I had other priorities and now I am paying the price for that. It is (thankfully) a temporary blip – I will have two books out next year, maybe more, but finding the time to write is tricky and I am much less prolific than I was.

5) My social life – Again, this is a temporary thing and it is already getting better. Now that the baby is older, I feel I can spend time away from him in the evenings. What I don’t do is go out with my husband anymore – one of us always stays at home to babysit. This is because he doesn’t sleep well enough for me to be confident that he won’t wake a few times in an evening so I would prefer that either his dad or I am there if he does.

6) Any kind of hairstyle – I lost a lot of hair when he was born and it’s still growing back, so I have tufts which stick out at right angles from my fringe no matter what I do. It’s growing back grey, too, so I look like an old tufty badger. It’s nothing that a good hairdresser and some hair dye won’t fix but I haven’t had the time to find either.

7) My line free face – I don’t know if it’s tiredness or encroaching time but I see more wrinkles and I look about a hundred. I hope it’s just tiredness. I don’t like looking older than the Queen.

8) My patience – I might be more empathetic but I am definitely less patient, especially with fools, who I never had much time for before. Alas, I think this might be a permanent change. George Osborne, I am looking at you.

The list could go on and on. Of course, I have gained a lot more than I’ve lost. One little smile from my little boy during a sleepless night and all my irritation and exhaustion becomes bearable once more. Watching him master a new skill fills me with immeasurable happiness. And I have a ready made audience for my picture books. That list could go on and on too, so I’m not in any way bleating about the things I have lost. I just think it’s worth noting them, especially since it also makes me realise what I’ve gained. So maybe I didn’t lose them at all – maybe I traded them for something more valuable. I kind of like that way of looking at it, don’t you?

About Tamsyn Murray

I live in Hertfordshire and make things up for a living. At them moment, I am writing the Completely Cassidy series for readers aged 8-12. I own one cat, one dog and five rabbits, plus assorted humans.

Information

This entry was posted on March 22, 2013 by in Bea Family.
Follow whoever you want to be… on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

