whoever you want to be…

£3750.

If you’re in the UK this week, it would be hard to miss the fact that Margaret Thatcher died this week. I’m not going to get into writing about her politics – there have been a lot of words spilled on the internet already about that, and it’s not hard to find praise or condemnation, whichever you prefer.

One thing is for sure, she has affected our society hugely. And our politicians chose to mark that by holding a day of tributes, today. So I arrived on twitter this morning to this.

I confessed that I didn’t understand why this was necessary. We’re being told this is an age of austerity. That we’re All in it together. And there were MPs prepared to spend a massive amount of money in a day.

Now, not all MPs will claim anything. Some will refuse to go, either because they don’t agree with it, or they are afraid of what their constituents might have to say about it. But some will. And I daresay some will claim expenses for it, whether any will claim the full whack, or fly back out to their holiday afterwards remains to be seen.

I was intrigued though about what my followers thought of the amount, and what they would do with it.

The responses came in thick and fast.

Now it turns out you can’t hashtag a number on twitter, so I couldn’t collect the tweets particularly easily. And at the time I was working on fixing my blog – which happily is mainly fixed now. So Keris offered that I could pop a post on Bea, and I thought I would.

So there you go. Some thoughts on what £3750 is worth. And I notice that to most people, it’s food. And for no one was it travelling back unnecessarily from holiday. So, explain to me again why this had to be today? And do we all think it’s worth it?

About liveotherwise

Often found on twitter, also blogging. I read, write, home educate and think too much.

9 comments on “£3750.

  1. Positive Sarah
    April 10, 2013

    It would be a hefty amount towards a deposit for a house, or my wedding, which is on a shoestring, or to pay off some debts. It would be LOVELY.

    • liveotherwise
      April 10, 2013

      It’s a substantial amount of money for any of those things.

  2. Julie G
    April 10, 2013

    This would buy my husband a second hand electric wheelchair. It may even pay for the hoist to get it in the car. Or a private diagnosis for my SEN son, our health authority, mental health team no longer has anything to do with Autistic Spectrum Disorders. Nothing at all, no diagnosis, no support, nothing.

    • liveotherwise
      April 10, 2013

      Nothing? That’s outrageous. Where are you? Have you been in touch with NAS at all?

  3. mamacrow
    April 10, 2013

    That would pay off our overdraft & support us for a couple of months.

  4. Linda
    April 11, 2013

    *Stands up and applauds*

    Thank you, love this.

    I haven’t tried to put my unease about the amount of eulogising for Thatcher into words but if I did, I’d be chuffed to do it as eloquently and sharply as this

    • liveotherwise
      April 11, 2013

      Thank you – it’s a very difficult topic to address I think. Focusing on the immediate practical issue was all I could cope with.

  5. Pingback: £3750. | Living otherwise

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on April 10, 2013 by in Bea Current and tagged , , .
Follow whoever you want to be… on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

