whoever you want to be…

Too many teddies?

WP_20130424_003

It started with just one – Buster – a cuddly beagle my aunty bought me before I even had kids and which Harry nicked at an early age. After a couple of years, Harry slept with maybe five teddies. Then Joe was born. Harry picked a soft toy for him at the hospital – a rat (let’s try not to read too much into that, eh?). Then there was the press trip to Build-a-Bear. And of course we couldn’t go to Disneyland Paris and not buy a Mickey and a Minnie, could we? (When Harry saw the photo above, he said, “But Minnie is naked there!”)

We can trace Harry and Joe’s various obsessions by looking through the toy pile. Mater (Cars). Wurly (Moshi Monsters). Agent P (Phineas & Ferb). Spongebob. The Olympics. There’s a Pokemon hiding away in the bottom right-hand corner. Any wild animal will no doubt have come out of a payment to WWF after one or both of the boys saw a heart-tugging advert on TV. There’s even an enormous Hello Kitty that they bought for me and immediately snaffled for themselves.

They play with these toys a lot. They rename them for various games. (The rat Harry bought for Joe before he was born? He “plays” Patrat in Pokemon. A rabbit toy of mine is Pokemon’s Buneary. Hello Kitty is Vanellope in Wreck-It Ralph.) They carry a bunch of them everywhere they go. Lately, leaving the house has involved negotiating how many “friends” they can take. The boys want to take at least five each. I worry about losing them and aim for one to carry, the rest to stay in the car. We generally agree they can carry two. Or sometimes three. More often than not I end up carrying them. I take a spare bag, just in case.

But what’s it all about? Is it healthy to be so attached to toys? I worry that the toy obsession increased when Harry stopped going to school. Is he replacing real school friends with plush toys?! I asked him. He rolled his eyes and said he just loves soft toys. Fur enough. (Sorry, couldn’t resist.)

What do you think? Does your child have a toy obsession? Do you have a limit on the number of teddies they can have?

About K

YA writer. Voracious reader. Feminist. Home educator. Addicted to tea and Twitter.

7 comments on “Too many teddies?

  1. Vivienne
    April 26, 2013

    I still have all three of my favourite teddies from when I was a child and they now sit in my wardrobe. My girls are thirteen and still have some of their bears. It’s just nice to have something to cuddle. I now have pets to cuddle. I think it’s just a comfort thing.

    • Keris
      April 26, 2013

      I’ve still got two from when I was little. Two, though, not 102! 😉

  2. caro unlimited
    April 26, 2013

    There are probably too many in my house. My daughter and step-daughter have LOADS. But there are a fair few in my room too, and I don’t even hide them in cupboards. There are two donkeys, two bears, a pig, a mouse, two dogs, a cow, three soft dolls, and a number of noisy plush birds. I would love to see the looks on the faces of some people if they saw all this. I can’t help feeling they wouldn’t be able to square it with the personality I project (distinctly un-fluffy, really).

    In any case, my school-going daughters love them, and they use them as characters in games, etc. I don’t think it’s a problem at all. My step-daughter is especially obsessed with them, but I suspect it’s a phase she’ll get out of now that her teen years are not so far off.

    • Keris
      April 26, 2013

      Thanks, Caro. I do think it’s probably just coincidence that it increased when he left school. Either that or being home really allows him to indulge in the obsession 🙂

  3. Susan Walters
    April 26, 2013

    I have loads from when I was younger that I can’t part with. Most of them have been adopted by the children. Olivia has loads of them in bed, in fact it got to a point where she could barely get in so we they all got moved to the bottom of the bed but they are creeping back up. Two of them come downstairs in the morning – her favourite bear who goes everywhere and is completely adored and a huge cow called Daisy that I bought (to Phil’s despair) in Costco when she was 18 months old and it was bigger than her! Ben has quite a few but only one or two in bed and he would never take them outside the house or allow anyone to see him with one. He goes on an overnight trip soon and is refusing to take anything with him which makes me a bit sad but I can understand he doesn’t want to be the only one.

    • Keris
      April 26, 2013

      Ha! We’ve taken them out of bed and had them all crawl back too. And Harry’s completely unembarrassed about his. He did go through a stage (while he was at school) of being more covert, but now he lets his teddy obsession shine out 😀

  4. Stellian's Stories
    April 26, 2013

    My daughter has a bunny that was once purple, and is now grey. Her head is held on with a ribbon as bunny’s neck is full of holes. Son is on ‘elephant’ (Elly) number two. Number one has no trunk due to being chewed off, and the comfort blanket has long since been lost. Number two, has his blanket, and no trunk. He also sleeps with a giant penguin known as Captain Beaky after the Mike Batt LP, and a giant rabbit. Daughter is content with bunny, son goes through fads. There’s clowny, mr snoodle, snodgie the snodgie and many more – but mainly they’re bedtime and used to okay schools!

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on April 26, 2013 by in Bea Family.
Follow whoever you want to be… on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

