whoever you want to be…

Do manners matter?

picture by Hyena Reality  courtesy of Freedigitalphotos.net

picture by Hyena Reality courtesy of Freedigitalphotos.net

When I was little I vividly remember my mum telling me that table manners were very important. There was no talking with your mouth full, a knife and fork were held correctly and put down while you chewed, you placed them next to each other on the plate when you finished eating and you asked to be excused from the table. It may all seem a bit old fashioned now but they are the exact same manners I am attempting to instill in my children now. I’ve even found myself saying the same phrases as my mum (don’t you hate it when that happens?!) my favourite being ‘you can put your knife and fork down, no one’s going to steal them.’

We don’t get the chance to eat as a family every day. My husband gets home from work about half an hour before our daughter goes to bed which makes an evening meal together tricky but we eat as a family at the weekends and on holiday and, most of the time, it’s lovely. They don’t always remember to finish what’s in their mouths before they start chatting but we are getting there!

But it’s not just children – I’ve seen plenty of adults whose manners while eating are awful and, without wanting to sound like Katie Hopkins, make me cringe. Talking with your mouth full and chewing with your mouth open are up there as two of my least favourite things. I’m not being a snob about this it’s just revolting!

So do table manners matter? Personally I think they do – just like general good manners such as saying please and thank you. My children might not be perfect but I don’t have to worry about their behaviour when we go out for a meal or to a family occasion.

What do you think?

2 comments on “Do manners matter?

  1. tabliope
    July 29, 2013

    yes, I think they do matter a great deal and your children may think it’s a pain at the moment, but they’ll be grateful to you when they’re older. I know I’m certainly glad that my parents taught me how to behave at the table etc

  2. Anne-Marie
    July 30, 2013

    I really think they do, too. I don’t have children yet myself, but I was brought up with good table manners and I would like to think I’ll pass them onto my children.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on July 29, 2013 by in Bea Family.
Follow whoever you want to be… on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

