whoever you want to be…

Winter Skin Saviours

wintry fingers

Winter is not kind to skin. Mine is sensitive, dry and dehydrated (they are not the same thing, apparently), prone to redness and breaking out in scaly patches when temperatures drop. Attractive. In my twenties I could get away with just slapping on a bit of moisturiser, occasionally, but now my thirties are almost over I need to be a bit more proactive. Over the last year I have overhauled my skincare regime (um, that basically means I started having one), and so far, so good.

Here, in handy list form, are the things that have made a difference:

  1. Remembering to drink lots of water. Boring, I know, but it works.
  2. Hot cloth cleansing twice a day, with a good old fashioned flannel. First, in the shower in the morning (currently with the Body Shop’s Vitamin E Gentle Facial Wash), and then again at night after brushing my teeth (with either Clarins Pure Melt Cleansing Gel or the Body Shop Camomile Sumptuous Cleansing Butter). Superdrug have flannels for 99p.
  3. Removing make up with Micellar water. Magic stuff that doesn’t sting and makes mascara vanish. This one is great, and a bottle lasts for ages.
  4. Making sure that my daytime moisturiser has an SPF that protects against both UVA and UVB rays– and I up the level of the SPF in the Summer.
  5. Using a facial oil at night (after serum, before moisturiser). This step is the one that has made the biggest difference to my skin – compared to a year ago it’s definitely softer, less sensitive and my skin tone is more even. The Clarins ones are gorgeous, I use Santal when funds allow but if you have a different skin type you can try Lotus (combination/oily skin) or Blue Orchid (dehydrated skin). A little goes a long way – a couple of drops warmed on fingertips will do my face and neck, so a bottle lasts for ages. When I’m poor I use the Body Shop Vitamin E one (so that’s what I’m using now).
  6. Using Waitrose Baby Bottom Butter (yes, really) as an occasional intensive night treatment if my skin feels especially dry. It’s dead cheap, and I have been known to use it on my feet too, under cotton socks, when they are particularly gnarled.
  7. Sometimes (always) I just want to fall straight into bed, but if I do skip the pre-bed cleansing and moisturising I always regret it in the morning. Taking the time to massage my face with my various lotions and potions never fails to relax me, and sets me on the path to sleep. Lovely sleep…

Of course, if the Polar Vortex reaches the UK I may just have to put ALL of the products on my face at the same time. Or buy a balaclava.

One comment on “Winter Skin Saviours

  1. Pingback: Trifles likes… | trifles

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on January 27, 2014 by in Bea Healthy, Bea Stylish, Bea Yourself and tagged , .
Follow whoever you want to be… on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

