whoever you want to be…

Tartiflette! Get it while it’s still cold (outside)

I was lucky enough to spend a couple of days in Reims, France, recently, with one of my closest friends who lives in that amazing city. We ate so well it was ridiculous, indulging in moules-frites, steak frites and fondue. My friend cooked me a French classic, Tartiflette, while I was there and I loved it so much I’ve made it at home myself. It’s so easy, I thought I’d share it with you. It’s very much a wintry dish, originating in the mountainous area of Haute Savoie but I think there’s enough cold weather left before Summer arrives for you to try it at home.

Basically, tartiflette is potatoes topped with bacon & onions and then with a big slab of the soft, French cheese, Reblochon on top. I’m pretty sure you’d be able to get Reblochon in a good deli and/or one of the big supermarkets’ deli counter.

So, boil up some small, waxy potatoes to quite soft. (I used new potatoes which did the job well.) Then, lay them in a flat dish and give them a bit of a bash, not a mash, a bash.

Potatoes, bacon & onion- is there a better combination?

Potatoes, bacon & onion- is there a better combination?

While you’re boiling the potatoes, fry off some onion and bacon pieces/lardons. When they’re ready, top the potatoes with them.

Reblochon- it comes in a package like this.

Reblochon- it comes in a package like this.

Next, take your Reblochon cheese out of the fridge. It’s best to keep it in the fridge until right before you want to use it because it’s very difficult to cut when it’s gone soft. Slice the cheese through the middle so you have two, flat rounds of cheese and place them on top the potatoes and bacon. (Another way, which my friend prefers, is to slice the cheese lengthways and lay the slices over the potatoes.)

Cheese-topped and in the oven.

Cheese-topped and in the oven.

Stick your dish into a warm oven (I had mine on 200° fan-forced) and bake until the cheese is all melty and golden.

Here's one I made earlier. *dribbles a bit*

Here’s one I made earlier. *dribbles a bit*

I served mine with a side of salad which freshens up the stodginess of the potato and cheese. A delicious, hearty, warming dish which was a roaring success in my house. Give it a try and let me know how much you love it.

Information

This entry was posted on March 12, 2014 by in Bea Adventurous, Bea Creative, Bea Delicious, Bea Inspired.
Follow whoever you want to be… on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

