whoever you want to be…

This, too, shall pass.

you_shall_not_passA minute ago, it was January. Then February. And suddenly, two nanoseconds later, it’s nearly the end of March. I referred to today as a Terrible Tuesday… only to be laughed at and corrected to Wednesday (by well-meaning doctor colleagues, who suggested that it must be a Very Terrible Tuesday indeed!).

The older I get, the quicker time passes. A blink, and it seems that another year is done.

I remember when a year stretched out for FOR-EV-ERRRRR, in a slow-motion voice straight out of an 80s movie. I remember when “The Year 2000” was ever-so-far away. When things like iPods, let alone iPads, seemed merely a dream. (Penny’s “computer book”, anyone? Inspector Gadget reference for you youngsters. Google it.)

Every year, I am flummoxed by how quickly the minutes tick over; and how quickly the world moves with time. A week, in retrospect, seems like a few short seconds. Perhaps it’s an “age thing”, bred of a longer perspective; perhaps it’s some kind of technological disappearing act (look down, open Internet browser, look up, ten hours have passed). I’m not entirely sure. Actually, I have no idea. All I know, is that moments often feel like “forever”, but once past, feel like seconds. I suspect that it was wise of me not to pursue studies in Physics. The time-space continuum would have done my head in.

So: back to these ‘moments’.

I had an epiphany the other day, when reflecting on some of the tough lessons of the past few years. And that epiphany was this: ALL crises pass. None of them last forever. And, inevitably, all seem to resolve themselves, at the very worst, with time.

Now, I may be a little daft, and most of you out there have this figured out already; but this epiphany has already had me reframing a few of my current challenges. I’m finding, in the midst of difficulty, telling myself “it’s okay – I really don’t need to worry about this – it’s going to pass soon enough!”. Even when I don’t have a clear solution to a problem, I find that in letting go of the strain of worry and fear, solutions appear. Or, in the very least, the problem feels less magnified and catastrophic, and much more manageable.

A wise chap once wrote the line: don’t sweat the small stuff… and it’s all small stuff.

Or, as the ubiquitous lyric from Frozen brazenly suggests: let it go…

 

 

[Image from CaptainD on Deviant Art]

About Erin Le Clerc

Erin is a psychologist, facilitator and life coach. She's also a writer, traveller, singer, dreamer and award winning air guitarist. She's passionate about encouraging people to live and love to their fullest potential, while having a bit of fun at the same time.

One comment on “This, too, shall pass.

  1. Completely agree. And if there’s one thing social media marketing has taught me, it’s that, actually, you’ll remember the so-called disaster much longer than everyone else will. And half the battle for me is not worrying about what anyone else thinks!

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on March 19, 2014 by in Bea Healthy, Bea Inspired, Bea Spiritual.
Follow whoever you want to be… on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

